CEEPUS mobility

Since 2011, the Department of Geology of the Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb, has been member of the CEEPUS network CIII-RS-0038 Earth-Science Studies in Central and Southeastern Europe (EURO Geo-Sci), which includes 19 universities from 11 countries. The activity of the network is based on the mobility of students and teachers who are granted scholarships for their stays at foreign universities.

Website of the network: https://ceepus.rgf.bg.ac.rs/

Network coordinator: University of Belgrade, Faculty of Mining and Geology

CEEPUS coordinator at the Department of Geology, Faculty of Science: dr. Katarina Gobo, Assistant Professor, office GPZ 019 (e-mail: katarina.gobo@geol.pmf.unizg.hr)


Network members and their websites:


City / university




Polytechnic University of Tirana, Faculty of Geology and Mining



University of Vienna, Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy


University of Innsbruck, Faculty of Geo- and Atmospheric Sciences


Montanuniversitaet in Leoben, Department of Applied Geosciences and Geophysics


Paris Lodron University of Salzburg, Faculty of Natural and Life Sciences, Department of Environment and Biodiversity

Bosnia and Herzegovina


University of Tuzla, Faculty of Mining, Geology and Civil Engineering

Czech Republic


Masaryk University in Brno, Faculty of Science, Department of Geological Sciences


Zagreb - PMF

University of Zagreb, Faculty of Science

Zagreb - RGNF

University of Zagreb, Faculty of Mining, Geology and Petroleum Engineering



Eötvös Lorand University Budapest, Faculty of Science, Institute of Geography and Earth Science



University of Silesia in Katowice, Branch Sosnowiec, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Institute of Earth Sciences


Jagiellonian University in Cracow, Faculty of Geography and Geology, Institute of Geological Sciences


University of Wroclaw, Faculty of Earth Sciences and Environmental Management, Institute of Geological Sciences



Babes-Bolyai University Cluj-Napoca, Faculty of Biology and Geology, Department of Geology


Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi, Faculty of Geography and Geology, Department Geology and Geochemistry



University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Natural Sciences and Engineering, Department of Geology



Comenius University in Bratislava, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Department of Mineralogy, Petrology and Economic Geology


Technical University in Košice, Faculty of Mining, Ecology, Process Control and Geotechnologies



University of Belgrade, Faculty of Mining and Geology


The mobility of students and PhD students can be achieved in three ways:

1.       The entire semester

2.       Short term student: 1 to 3 months

o   approved only for the purpose of writing a final thesis, internship, work in the laboratory and similar

o   the application must contain a clear plan of activities

3.       Short term excursion: 3 – 14 days

o   Short group mobilities, i.e. summer schools or excursions (field trips)

o   They do not have to take place during the summer

REQUIREMENT FOR STUDENTS: completed at least two semesters at the time of realization of the mobility


Mobility of teaching staff: 5 – 30 days

REQUIREMENTS FOR TEACHING STAFF: teaching status at the home institution and a minimum of 6 hours of lectures or mentoring per week at the host institution (it is mandatory to provide the titles/topics of the lectures and their duration in the application)


Monthly scholarship amounts vary from country to country. An overview of scholarship amounts by country and mobility category is available at: https://www.ceepus.info/content/contact


CEEPUS year with important deadlines:


Official CEEPUS deadline

Internal deadline

(local coordinators)

Mobility announcements for the next academic year (quota planning)


12 December

Call for network mobility

15 May

10 May

Call for Freemover mobility (outside existing networks to any institution in CEEPUS countries)

1 June

25 May

Nominations for network mobility – winter semester

15 June

10 June

Nominations for network mobility – summer semester

31 October

25 October

Freemover application

30 November

20 November

More information about the CEEPUS programme is available on the website of the Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes.