Number of visits:



The Department of Geophysics is a modern scientific and educational institution, the only one of its kind in Croatia, which provides higher education at all levels of geophysics (meteorology, oceanography, seismology, and geomagnetism with aeronomy). Its scientists and associates carry out quality and valuable scientific and professional research in many domestic and international scientific and research projects. Focus is placed mainly on the processes and phenomena in the region, but research results often extend beyond regional boundaries as new methods are developed and/or existing methods are improved. There are three units within the Department: the Andrija Mohorovičić Geophysical Institute, the Seismological Survey and the Central Geophysical Library.


The Andrija Mohorovičić Geophysical Institute of the Department of Geophysics is a local organiser for AdriaArray Workshop that will be held in Dubrovnik on 3–5 April 2023 and is partly supported by ORFEUS & EPOS within the EPOS SP project (Horizon 2020 Grant Agreement No. 871121). A hundred participants will discuss on AdriaArray seismic network, research direction and goals as well as cooperation.

Author: Iva Dasović